Treaty of Versailles

Signing of the Treaty of Versailles 1919

The treaty of Versailles was signed in 1919.

The peace treaty to formally end the war between Germany and the Allies was signed in the Hall of Mirrors in the Palace of Versailles on the outskirts of Paris in 1919.

Treaty negotiations were dominated by the ‘big four’ French Prime Minister Georges Clemenceau, Italian Prime Minister Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, British Prime Minister David Lloyd George, and United States President Woodrow Wilson. Central to the treaty was a stipulation Germany accept responsibility for all damage and harm during the war. Germany was required to disarm, give up overseas territories and pay reparations.

The treaty was signed five years to the day of the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand, the event that first propelled the world into war.

Signing of the Treaty of Versailles – On This Day

Painting Information: John Christen Johansen. Paris, France.

Source: Smithsonian

Published by VintageDava

Follow me on Twitter at #Davagirl

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: